Michael Ballhaus Will Receive ASC International Achievement Award

Publish date:

Michael Ballhaus, ASC will receive the 2007 American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) International Achievement Award in recognition of his artful and enduring contributions to advancing the global art of filmmaking. He will be feted here during the 21st Annual ASC Outstanding Achievement Awards celebration on February 18, 2007. Ballhaus has compiled some 100 narrative film credits in Germany and the United States. He has earned Oscar® nominations for BROADCAST NEWS, THE FABULOUS BAKER BOYS and GANGS OF NEW YORK. A short list of his other memorable films includes THE COLOR OF MONEY, GOODFELLAS, POSTCARDS FROM THE EDGE, DRACULA, THE AGE OF INNOCENCE, QUIZ SHOW, AIR FORCE ONE, PRIMARY COLORS and SOMETHING‘S GOTTA GIVE. His current film, THE DEPARTED, has earned raves reviews from critics and fans.

“Michael Ballhaus was chosen for this tribute by his peers who are both awed and inspired by the breadth and scope of his artistry,” says Russ Alsobrook, ASC, chairman of the organization‘s Awards Committee.

Ballhaus was born in Berlin and raised in the Bavarian region of Germany. In 1970, he worked with “New German Cinema” writer-director R.W. Fassbinder on WHITY, the first of 15 collaborations with the director over a nine-year span. Their other joint ventures include THE MARRIAGE OF MARIA BRAUN, THE STATIONMASTER‘S WIFE, FOX AND HIS FRIENDS and MARTHA.

DEAR MR. WONDERFUL in 1982 was the cinematographer‘s first project in the United States. Ballhaus subsequently shot another 35 films with American directors, including seven with Martin Scorsese, beginning with AFTER HOURS in 1985. He has also collaborated with James L. Brooks, Mike Nichols, Francis Ford Coppola, John Sayles and Peter Yates, while continuing to make films in Germany.

Ballhaus joins a noteworthy group of previous recipients, including Freddie Young, BSC; Jack Cardiff, BSC; Freddie Francis, BSC; Giuseppe Rotunno, ASC, AIC; Billy Williams, BSC; Douglas Slocombe, BSC; and Tonino Delli Colli, AIC, among others. He is the first German recipient of the international award.

The ASC was founded in January 1919. The trade organization is dedicated to advancing the evolving art and craft of telling stories with moving images. There are some 280 ASC members from many nations today, and 170 members from allied sectors of the industry. For information about the 21st Annual Outstanding Achievement Awards, visit





SMPTE Australia Section Issues Call for Papers for METexpo Conference

SMPTE®, the organization whose standards work has supported a century of advances in entertainment technology, and whose membership spans the globe, today announced that the SMPTE Australia Section has issued a call for papers for its forthcoming Media + Entertainment Tech Expo (METexpo) Conference, which will be held between 18-20 July 2019 at the International Convention Centre, Darling Harbour, Sydney, Australia.