HPA Announces Winners of Brinkman Scholarships

Publish date:

HOLLYWOOD—The Hollywood Post Alliance (


) is proud to announce the winners of the 2008 J. Michael Brinkman Scholarship Awards, honoring outstanding students and industry professionals committed to excellence and a desire to further their careers in post production. Four university students were awarded scholarships. They include Jose Ho-Guanipa of Duke University, Silvestre Grimaldo of California State University Long Beach, and Daniel Reams Jr. and Nicholas Batchelder of California State University Northridge. Additionally, Ryan Erik Lam, a student at Hawaii Pacific University, and Debrah Lemattre, founder of Filmanthrophy, will receive registrations to HPA’s 2009 Technology Retreat. “Encouraging the development of young people who will help shape the future of the post production industry and the continuing education of those already in the industry is central to the mission of the HPA,� said HPA President Leon Silverman. “We are extremely proud of this year’s group of award winners and pleased to be able to contribute to their education.� The J. Michael Brinkman Scholarship Awards is open to individuals working in the industry in Southern California or students who intend to live and work in the area upon leaving school and fulfill specific application requirements. In recognition of the instructors’ contributions toward the students’ success, the HPA awards a stipend to the recommending instructors of scholarship winners to be used in support of their scholarly endeavors. Among the educators recognized this year are Mary Schaffer, Director of California State University Northridge’s Cinema and TV Arts (CTVA) program; James R. Thompson, faculty director of the Duke University program in Los Angeles; Patricia Gillespie, video production teacher at the Kamehameha Schools in Hawaii; and Barbara J. Stanton, Executive Director of the Entrepreneur Education Center Inc. (EECI) in Watts, California. “We are pleased to also recognize the truly talented instructors who have helped to educate our winners and start them on their career paths,� Silverman said. About the J. Michael Brinkman Scholarship Awards Michael Brinkman was a leading figure in Hollywood’s broadcast and post production communities and a founding member of the Hollywood Post Alliance. Michael spent 16 years with Panasonic and prior to that was an award-winning producer/director working in documentary and educational production. Michael spent his professional life helping others understand technology in the service of the creative endeavor. His contagious enthusiasm and willingness to mentor touched many lives. In his memory the HPA hopes to continue his legacy to the industry and the people who choose to make it their career. About the Hollywood Post Alliance The Hollywood Post Alliance (HPA) serves the Southern California-based professional community of businesses and individuals who provide expertise, support, tools and the infrastructure for the creation and finishing of motion pictures, television, commercials, digital media and other dynamic media content.



Zylia Takes Portable 360-Degree Recording to New Territory With Tablet-Based Control of Its Acclaimed ZM-1 Microphone

Making high-resolution 360-degree recording in the field easier than ever, Zylia today introduced a Windows tablet-compatible version of ZYLIA software for the company's acclaimed ZYLIA ZM-1 microphone. Convenient tablet-based control over the ZM-1, a compact 3rd order Ambisonics microphone, gives sound engineers and musicians a lightweight and highly portable solution for capturing immersive audio in any environment.


Veritone Announces NAB Show Product of the Year Award Win for Veritone Attribute

Veritone, Inc. (Nasdaq: VERI), the creator of the world's first operating system for artificial intelligence, aiWARE™, today announced that its Veritone Attribute application, a near real-time media attribution solution, received a Product of the Year Award in the Best New Radio Technology category at the recent 2019 NAB Show in Las Vegas. The first official awards at the NAB Show, the program recognizes the most significant and promising new products and technologies showcased by exhibitors.