2011 Hollywood Post Alliance Awards Winners Unveiled

Publish date:
Updated on

The Post Production Community and Industry Innovators Receive Honors in Gala Evening

(LOS ANGELES, CA) Tonight, during a gala evening of celebration at the Skirball Cultural Center in Los Angeles,

The Hollywood Post Alliance(r)

- the professional organization for the post production community - presented the Sixth Annual HPA Awards to a sold out audience of industry insiders and luminaries. Individuals were honored in 12 creative categories as well as a number of special awards for Engineering Excellence, Lifetime Achievement and Creativity and Innovation, which had been announced earlier. The HPA Awards honor the best of the best talent working behind the scenes in motion pictures, television and commercials as well as the most innovative technologies in post. The winners of the 2011 Hollywood Post Alliance Awards are:

Outstanding Color Grading using a DI process - Feature Film

"The Help" Steven J. Scott // EFILM

Outstanding Color Grading - Television

"Mad Men - Blowing Smoke" Tim Vincent // LaserPacific

Outstanding Color Grading - Commercial

Nissan "Zero" Siggy Ferstl // Company 3

Outstanding Editing - Feature Film

"The Social Network" Angus Wall, A.C.E. and Kirk Baxter, A.C.E.

Outstanding Editing - Television

"Downton Abbey - Series 1 Episode 1" John Wilson, A.C.E. // Carnival Film & Television

Outstanding Editing - Commercial

American Express "Curtain" Chris Franklin // Big Sky Editorial

Outstanding Sound - Feature Film

"Green Lantern" John Reitz, Gregg Rudloff and Rick Kline // Warner Bros. Post Production Services Per Hallberg and Karen Baker Landers // Soundelux

Outstanding Sound - Television

"House - Bombshells" Brad North, Joe DeAngelis, Luis Galdames and Jackie Oster // Universal Studios Sound

Outstanding Sound - Commercial

Dream House "Trailer #1" David Brolin // Universal Studios Sound Bill Neil // Buddha Jones Trailers Outstanding Compositing - Feature Film "Transformers: Dark of the Moon" Jeff Sutherland, Jason Billington, Chris Balog and Ben O'Brien // Industrial Light & Magic Outstanding Compositing - Television "Boardwalk Empire - Boardwalk Empire" Paul Graff, Brian Sales, Merysa Nichols and Jesse Siglow // Crazy Horse Effects, Inc. Outstanding Compositing – Commercial Jameson “Fire” Dan Glass, Gabby Gourrier, Chris Bankoff and Jeff Willette // Method Studios A number of special awards, which had been announced earlier, were bestowed during the evening including: Lifetime Achievement Award * Cyril Drabinsky, President and CEO of Deluxe Entertainment Services Group Inc. Engineering Excellence Award: * Dolby Laboratories // Professional Reference Monitor * Sony Professional Solutions of America // OLED Monitor * Lightcraft Technology // Previzion * IBM // Linear Tape File System Judges Award for Creativity and Innovation * Testronic Labs // File-Based QC Lab * Steven J. Scott of EFILM // "Tree of Life" DI Environment For further information about the Hollywood Post Alliance, contact: 213.614.0860, or visit hpaonline.com.

About the Hollywood Post Alliance(r)

Hollywood Post Alliance (HPA) serves the professional community of businesses and individuals who provide expertise, support, tools and the infrastructure for the creation and finishing of motion pictures, television, commercials, digital media and other dynamic media content.

About the HPA(r) Awards

The HPA Awards were created to foster awareness of post production, promote creative and technical excellence, recognize the achievements of post production talent, and build involvement in the Hollywood Post Alliance. The HPA Awards will be presented with generous support from Premier Sponsor: NAB Show; Foundation Members: Avid Technology, Company 3, Deluxe, EFILM, Encore, Method Studios and Stereo D and Supporting Sponsors: Grass Valley, Light Iron Digital, Quantel and Xytech Systems. # # # Media Contact: For information, images, or interviews: ignite strategic communications, ph: 818.303.8088 Christine Purse or Mimi Rossi