2008 Lifetime Achievement Awards Event Set by Society of Camera Operators

Publish date:

The SOC has set Saturday, February 16th as the date for the 2008 Lifetime Achievement and Camera Operator of the Year Awards presentation and reception. The location for the black tie event will be the Goldenson Theater of the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences in North Hollywood, CA. The SOC, a non-profit charitable organization, has advanced the art and creative contributions of the Camera Operator in the Motion Picture and Television industries since its inception in 1978. The Society brings industry leaders and cinematic artists into the closest confederation. The SOC Lifetime Achievement Awards has a long history of honoring the career highlights of the best at their below-the-line crafts and technical achievements as well as the Society's Governors Award for a lifetime of significant contribution to the industry. Some of the past Governors Award honorees: John Huston; Kathleen Kennedy; Steven Spielberg; Ron Howard; Steven Lighthill, ASC; Jack N. Green, ASC; Sidney Poitier; Roger Corman; Haskell Wexler, ASC. The nominations for these awards are submitted by the entire membership of the Society. Then, eligible active members cast their votes for each of these Lifetime Achievement and Technical Achievement Award categories. The recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Awards receive SOC's Golden CAMMY statuette. The 2008 honorees: The SOC Board of Governors Award for Lifetime Achievement in the service of the Motion Picture Industry will be presented to Joe Dunton (CEO JDC Cameras; VP Panavision, Inc.) The SOC President's Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Industry: tba Lifetime Achievement in Camera Operating: Mitch Dubin, SOC (



Jerry Maguire

) Memorial tribute for his Lifetime Achievement as Camera Technician: Scott Rathner (

Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal


The Spiderwick Chronicles

) Lifetime Achievement as Still Photographer: François Duhamel (

Road to Perdition


There Will Be Blood

) Lifetime Achievement as Mobile Camera Platform Operator: Larry McConkey, SOC (Steadicam Operator:

Bonfire of the Vanities



). SOC recognition for achievement of Best Historical Shot Award:

The Russian Ark

- Tilman Büettner - Steadicam Operator (entire feature length film is one Steadicam shot) SOC Technical Achievement Award recognition will be presented to Panavision Inc. for design and development of the Genesis HD camera system. SOC Technical Achievement Award recognition will be presented to Tiffen, Inc. and Garrett Brown for the design and development of the Ultra2 Steadicam. SOC Distinguished Service Award will be presented to International Cinematographer's Guild Past President George Spiro Dibie, ASC. This year marks an exciting development for the SOC as it heralds “The Camera Operator of the Year� in the feature film category. The five nominees are:

3:10 To Yuma

Operator: David Luckenbach Studio: Lionsgate

Into The Wild

Operator: Jacques Jouffret, SOC Studio: Paramount Vantage

Michael Clayton

Operator: Scott Sakamoto Studio: Warner Bros.

The Kite Runner

Operator: Jim McConkey Studio: Dreamworks

There Will Be Blood

Operator: Colin Anderson Studio: Paramount Vantage Member ballot voting commences in the second week of January 2008. The result will be announced at the Lifetime Achievement Awards on February 16th, 2008. Starting time is 5:30 p.m. Event producer David J Frederick, SOC, states that “The success of these SOC Awards stems from the integrity of the industry craftspeople that are being recognized at this emotional and fitting tribute of our peers. The comments from those who attended last year's awards evening proved it was the one Hollywood awards event with the most heart and soul.� Frederick adds, “Vision, the essential ingredient that we as Camera Operators use in our work, bonds us to children with vision problems. SOC dedicates its full support to the Eye Care Clinic at Childrens Hospital Los Angeles. The proceeds from this event as well as the advertising in our bi-annual magazine publication go to support this worthy cause.� For advertising and sponsorship opportunities contact Dan Dodd at 310 207-4410 x236 or


For event information and tickets please visit:




SMPTE Australia Section Issues Call for Papers for METexpo Conference

SMPTE®, the organization whose standards work has supported a century of advances in entertainment technology, and whose membership spans the globe, today announced that the SMPTE Australia Section has issued a call for papers for its forthcoming Media + Entertainment Tech Expo (METexpo) Conference, which will be held between 18-20 July 2019 at the International Convention Centre, Darling Harbour, Sydney, Australia.