Hollywood Post Alliance Announce Award Nominees - Creative Planet Network

Hollywood Post Alliance Announce Award Nominees

Publish date:

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Media Contact: Chris Purse - ignite 818.508.0450,




Gala Ceremony Scheduled for November 6th at Skirball Cultural Center September 23, 2008 (Los Angeles, CA) Nominations have been announced by the Hollywood Post Alliance for the Third Annual HPA Awards. Winners of the prestigious HPA Award will be announced during a gala evening ceremony on November 6, 2008 at the Skirball Cultural Center in Los Angeles, California. The awards, launched in 2006, acknowledge creative and technical excellence in the art, science and craft of post production in twelve categories. The HPA Awards recognize the abilities of the talented men and women behind the scenes that are a vital part in the creation of motion pictures, commercials and television. In announcing the nominees, HPA President Leon Silverman noted, "For the third year, the HPA Awards are honored with the highest caliber of talent and skill. The HPA Awards were created to pay homage to the people who make the art happen, and the creative partners in the process. The nominees, all of the entrants, and the companies behind them are the finest part of the business." Nominees for the HPA Awards include: Outstanding Color Grading Feature Film in a DI Process Iron Man Steven J. Scott (EFilm) Sweeney Todd Stefan Sonnenfeld (Company 3) Kite Runner Mike Sowa (LaserPacific Media Corporation) Outstanding Color Grading- Television Pushing Daisies "The Fun in Funerals" Joe Hathaway (LaserPacific Media Corporation) ESPN: The Masters Siggy Ferstl (RIOT) Andromeda Strain, Night 2: "Part 1" Mike Sowa (LaserPacific Media Corporation) Outstanding Color Grading- Commercial Travelers Insurance "Delivery" Sean Coleman (Company 3) Farmers Help Point "Drowned Circus" Stefan Sonnenfeld (Company 3) Jaguar "XF Hush" Alex Bickel (Outside Editorial) Outstanding Editing - Feature Film Iron Man Dan Lebental, A.C.E. Into the Wild Jay Cassidy, A.C.E. The Dark Knight Lee Smith, A.C.E. Outstanding Editing- Television Mad Men "Indian Summer" David J. Siegel, A.C.E. Breaking Bad (Pilot Episode) Lynne Willingham, A.C.E. (Sony Pictures Entertainment) Pushing Daisies "Pie-lette" Stuart Bass, A.C.E. Outstanding Editing- Commercial American Express "Airport Lounge" Chris Franklin (Big Sky Editorial) Jaguar "XF Hush" Neil Gust (Outside Editorial) Audi "Dream Cars" Jeff Ferruzzo (Outside Editorial) Outstanding Audio Post- Feature Film Wanted Wylie Stateman and Harry Cohen (Soundelux) & Christopher Jenkins and Frank A. Montano (Universal Studios) Wall-E Ben Burtt (Pixar Animation Studios), Tom Myers, Michael Semanick and Matthew Wood (Skywalker Sound) Into the Wild Michael Minkler (Todd AO), Lora Hirschberg (Skywalker Sound) and Martin Hernandez (Ztrackz) Outstanding Audio Post- Television CSI: CRIME SCENE INVESTIGATION "Cockroaches" Mace Matiosian, Ruth Adelman, David Vanslyke, Bill Smith, Yuri Reese and Jivan Tahmizian (Todd-AO) John Adams, Episode 3: "Don't Tread on Me" Marc Fishman and Tony Lamberti (Todd-AO) & Stephen Hunter Flick and Vanessa Lapato (Warner Brothers Post) R.L. Stine's The Haunting Hour Don't Think About It Sam Kaufmann and John Schell (Media City Sound) Outstanding Audio Post- Commercial Samaritans "Vectorscope" Joe Mount (Wave Recording Studios) Audi RS6 "Gymnast" Tony Rapaccioli and Warren Hamilton (Wave Recording Studios and Tonic) Playstation 3 "Universe" Nathan Dubin (Margarita Mix Santa Monica) Outstanding Compositing- Commercial Dunkelziffer e.V. "Tentacle" Jamie White, Toby Walton, Matt Burn and Nathan Kane (Absolute Post) Pontiac "Shwayze" Patrick Poulatian and Robert Sethi (Brickyard VFX) MasterCard "Mini" Chris Franklin and Ryan Sears (Big Sky Editorial) In addition to the categories announced today, Dean of the USC School of Cinematic Arts, Elizabeth M. Daley will receive the first Charles S. Swartz award, which honors individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the field of post production - an industry in a state of an expanding creative palette and of dynamic transition as a result of digital technologies and societal changes. The award recognizes Daley's important contributions to our industry in helping to prepare the filmmakers of the future for their careers in an era of significant creative and technological possibilities. Also on November 6, Ron Burdett will receive the organization's Lifetime Achievement Award. During a 30-year career, Ron has committed himself to the post production industry through technical innovation and his service to the industry, including a key role in launching the HPA. The HPA Engineering Excellence Award winner, which will be announced later this month, will also be awarded at the gala. Tickets are now available for the gala evening, which will be held on November 6th at the Skirball Cultural Center in Los Angeles. A cocktail reception follows the Awards Show. For further details about the Hollywood Post Alliance Awards or to buy tickets, please visit hpaawards.net, call 213.614.0860 or write


. For media inquiries, contact Christine Purse at ignite by calling 818.508.0450 or writing


. About the Hollywood Post Alliance The Hollywood Post Alliance (HPA) serves the professional community of businesses and individuals who provide expertise, support, tools and the infrastructure for the creation and finishing of motion pictures, television, commercials, digital media and other dynamic media content. About the HPA Awards The HPA Awards were created to foster awareness of post production, promote creative and technical excellence, recognize the achievements of post production talent, and build involvement in the Hollywood Post Alliance. The HPA Awards will be presented with generous support from Gold Sponsor: Autodesk; Silver Sponsors: Deluxe, Panasonic, and Thomson Grass Valley; and Bronze Sponsors: Avid Technology, Cine-tal, da Vinci, Digital Vision, Quantel, Sony, and Texas Instruments DLP Cinema.



Custom-Engineered Bolero S Ensures Reliable Referee Communications for German Bundesliga

Today's large-scale sporting events, as well as their technical broadcast requirements, are growing at an astounding pace. To meet and surpass these requirements, Riedel Communications has initiated their Managed Sports Services division, comprised of custom-engineered technologies paired with extensive supervision and support by Riedel-qualified engineers. Among the first to profit from these services is DFL Deutsche Fußball Liga, who has partnered with Riedel to design a reliable infrastructure for German Bundesliga referee communications.