American Society of Cinematographers Reveals Television Awards Nominees

Publish date:
Updated on

LOS ANGELES, December 16, 2010 — The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) has announced nominees in the two television categories of the 25th Annual Outstanding Achievement Awards competition. The awards ceremony will be held here on February 13 at the Hollywood & Highland Grand Ballroom. Nominees in the Television Episodic Series/Pilot Category are Eagle Egilsson for “Shell Game�/ DARK BLUE (TNT); Jonathan Freeman, ASC for “Home� / BOARDWALK EMPIRE (HBO); Christopher Manley, ASC for “Blowing Smoke� / MAD MEN (AMC); Kramer Morgenthau, ASC for “Family Limitation� / BOARDWALK EMPIRE; David Stockton for the NIKITA pilot (CW); Michael Wale, CSC for “Shield� / SMALLVILLE (CW); and Glen Winter, CSC for “Abandoned�/ SMALLVILLE. The finalists in the Television Movie/Miniseries category are David Gribble, ACS for JESSE STONE: NO REMORSE (CBS); Jon Joffin for “Episode 2�/ ALICE (Syfy) and Stephen Windon, ACS for “Okinawa� / THE PACIFIC (HBO). “Our members who judged these competitions were impressed by the brilliant and artful cinematography done this year,� says ASC Awards Chairman Richard Crudo. “Two of these talented individuals will claim top honors, but they are all winners. All of the nominees have earned the admiration of their peers.� Freeman and Winter each have four previous nominations. Freeman was tapped for PRINCE STREET, STRANGE JUSTICE and TAKEN, and a win in 2005 for the telefilm HOMELAND SECURITY. Winter’s nominations have all been for SMALLVILLE, including one win in 2008. This is the fourth nomination for Egilsson, who won the 2010 ASC Award for an episode of DARK BLUE after earning two earlier nods for CSI: MIAMI. Collecting their third nominations this year are Manley (THREAT MATRIX, CSI: NEW YORK) and Morgenthau (LIFE ON MARS, THE FIVE PEOPLE YOU MEET IN HEAVEN). Stockton and Joffin earn their second nods from the ASC, with Stockton winning in 2008 for ELEVENTH HOUR and Joffin’s prior nod for THE ANDROMEDA STRAIN. Gribble, Wale and Windon are all first-time ASC nominees. “The level of artistry and innovation in television cinematography has never been higher than it is now," says ASC president Michael Goi. "Narrowing down the field to these nominees was difficult given the general excellence of the submissions." For more information regarding the ASC Awards, visit the ASC website at

, or call 323-969-4333. # About The American Society of Cinematographers The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) is a non-profit association dedicated to advancing the art of filmmaking. Since its charter in 1919, the ASC has been committed to educating aspiring filmmakers and others about the art and craft of cinematography. For additional information about the ASC, visit

. Join ASC on Facebook at

and American Cinematographer magazine fan page at