Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


AMPAS Creates Academy Science and Technology Council

The Board of Governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has created the Academy Science and Technology Council and voted funds to hire a director and staff, who eventually will be housed in the Pickford Center for Motion Picture Study in Hollywood.

“The motion picture industry needs a body to monitor the current state of the technological arts, one that can work to facilitate understanding of new developments both within the industry and by the wider public audience,” Academy President Frank Pierson said. “That will be one of the mandates of the Academy Science and Technology Council.”

The Council also will be charged with completing a database of the history of film technology, beginning with the history of the Academy’s Scientific and Technical Awards submissions, and with presenting educational programs on the technology of motion pictures.

The educational programs will include historical accounts of past technologies, and reviews of current and future technologies. One such program, “The Science and Art of the Color Motion Picture – Past and Present,” was presented in May.

A Science and Technology Council Executive Committee named by Pierson, presented a proposed mission statement and organization chart to the Academy’s board, which voted to establish the group and voted funding for the 2003-04 calendar year. The committee will serve as the council’s oversight committee.

Co-chairs of the committee are Academy Sound Governor Donald C. Rogers, Visual Effects Governor Bill Taylor and visual effects pioneer Ray Feeney. Other members of the committee were Donn Cambern, Pete Clark, Edmund DiGiulio, Richard Edland, Jonathan Erland, Phillip Feiner, Richard Glickman, Douglas Greenfield, David Inglish and Richard Stumpf.