Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now



MVPA Announces 2006 Award Winners


MVPA Awards

were held on May 11, 2006 to honor the best of music video production. The Smashing Pumpkins received the Kratz Award for Creative Excellence, Floria Sigismondi received the Hall of Fame Video Award and Samuel Bayer received the Lifetime Achievement Award.

The MVPA Awards recognize and honor the exceptional talent in various categories of music video production. This annual awards show is the only awards forum within the industry of music video production that recognizes the achievements of the technical and creative artisans of the industry. Below is the list of the 2006 Award winners.

Director of the Year

Marc Webb

My Chemical Romance “Helena”/ Weezer “Perfect Situation”/ All-American

Rejects “Move Along”

Video of the Year

Chris Milk / Radical Music

Audioslave “Doesn’t Remind Me”

Adult Contemporary

Sophie Muller /


Factory Inc.

Gwen Stefani “Cool”


Marc Webb / DNA Inc.

All-American Rejects “Move Along”


Floria Sigismondi / Revolver Film Company

The White Stripes “Blue Orchid”


Michel Gondry / Partizan

Kanye West f/ Adam Levin “Heard ŒEm Say”

R & B

Paul Hunter / HSI Productions

Stevie Wonder “What the Fuss”


Mark Pellington / Merge @ Crossroads

Foo Fighters “The Best of You”


Thomas Bangalter & Guyman de Hamam Christo / Daft Arts

Daft Punk “Technologic”

Cross Promotion

Brett Ratner / HSI Productions

Jessica Simpson “These Boots Are Made For Walking”


Johan Renck / Black Dog Films

Robbie Williams “Tripping”

Best Video Produced for Under $25,000

Cat Solen / Strato Films

Bright Eyes “At the Bottom of Everything”

Animated Video

David Fincher / Anonymous Content

Nine Inch Nails “Only”

Direction of a Male Artist

Joseph Kahn / HSI Productions

Jamiroquai “Feels Just Like It Should”

Direction of a Female Artist

Floria Sigismondi / Revolver Film Company

Fiona Apple “O Sailor”

Direction of a New Artist

Mike Myerburg / Factory Features

The Like “What I Say and What I Mean”

Directorial Debut

Scott Speer

Switchfoot “Stars”

Art Direction

Jeff Everett & John Furgason

The White Stripes “The Denial Twist”


Danny Hiele

Audioslave “Doesn©ˆt Remind Me”


Hi Hat

Missy Elliott “Lose Control”


Bob Curreri

My Chemical Romance “Helena”


Livio Sanchez

Audioslave “Doesn’t Remind Me”

Special Effects

Motion Theory

Beck “Girl”


Marjan Malakpour

My Chemical Romance “Ghost of You”


Pamela Neal

Fiona Apple “O Sailor”


Gina Brooke

Madonna “Hung Up”