Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


IFP Announces 2005 Gotham Award Nominations


announced the nominations for the 15th Annual Gotham Awards, which will be awarded at a ceremony on November 30 in New York City. The nominees were selected by three separate nominating committees composed of critics and film programmers. Nominees for a final competitive juried award, Best Film Not Playing at a Theater Near You (for films yet to receive theatrical distribution), will be announced in early November. A jury of peers will decide the winning selections in all six categories.

Best Feature

• BROKEBACK MOUNTAIN – Directed by Ang Lee / Written by Larry McMurtry and Diana Ossana / Produced by Diana Ossana and James Schamus

• CAPOTE – Directed by Bennett Miller / Written by Dan Futterman / Produced by Caroline Baron, William Vince and Michael Ohoven

• A HISTORY OF VIOLENCE -Directed by David Cronenberg / Written by Josh Olson / Produced by Chris Bender and JC Spink

• KEANE – Written and directed by Lodge Kerrigan / Produced by Andrew Fierberg

• ME AND YOU AND EVERYONE WE KNOW – Written and directed by Miranda July / Produced by Gina Kwon

Best Documentary

• BALLET RUSSES – Directed by Dayna Goldfine and Dan Geller / Written by Dan Geller, Dayna Goldfine, Gary Weimberg and Celeste Schaefer Snyder / Produced by Dan Geller, Dayna Goldfine, Robert Hawk and Douglas Blair Turnbaugh

• ENRON: THE SMARTEST GUYS IN THE ROOM – Written and directed by Alex Gibney / Produced by Alex Gibney, Jason Kliot and Susan Motamed

• GRIZZLY MAN – Directed by Werner Herzog / Produced by Erik Nelson

• MURDERBALL – Directed by Henry-Alex Rubin and Dana Adam Shapiro / Produced by Jeffrey Mandel and Dana Adam Shapiro

• WILLIAM EGGLESTON IN THE REAL WORLD – Directed by Michael Almereyda / Produced by Michael Almereyda, Jesse Dylan and Anthony Katagas

Breakthrough Director


• Bennett Miller for CAPOTE

• Phil Morrison for JUNEBUG

• Andrew Wagner for THE TALENT GIVEN US

• Alice Wu for SAVING FACE

Breakthrough Actor

• Amy Adams as “Ashley” in JUNEBUG

• Camilla Belle as “Rose Slavin” in THE BALLAD OF JACK AND ROSE

• Joseph Gordon-Levitt as “Neil” in MYSTERIOUS SKIN

• Terrence Howard as “DJay” in HUSTLE & FLOW

• Damian Lewis as “William Keane” in KEANE

Best Ensemble Cast

• BROKEBACK MOUNTAIN – Heath Ledger, Jake Gyllenhaal, Michelle Williams, Anne Hathaway, Linda Cardellini, Randy Quaid, Anna Faris

• CRASH – Sandra Bullock, Don Cheadle, Matt Dillon, Jennifer Esposito, William Fichtner, Brendan Fraser, Terrence Dashon Howard, Chris “Ludacris” Bridges, Thandie Newton, Ryan Phillippe, Larenz Tate, Nona Gaye, Michael Pena

• GOOD NIGHT, AND GOOD LUCK – David Strathairn, Patricia Clarkson, George Clooney, Jeff Daniels, Robert Downey Jr., Frank Langella

• NINE LIVES – Kathy Baker, Amy Brenneman, Elpidia Carrillo, Glenn Close. Stephen Dillane, Dakota Fanning, William Fichtner, Lisa Gay Hamilton, Holly Hunter, Jason Isaacs, Joe Mantegna, Ian McShane, Molly Parker, Mary Kay Place, Sydney Tamiia Poitier, Aidan Quinn, Miguel Sandoval, Amanda Seyfried, Sissy Spacek, Robin Wright Penn

• THE SQUID AND THE WHALE – Jeff Daniels, Laura Linney, Jesse Eisenberg, Owen Kline

As previously announced, Matt Dillon, fresh from the success of CRASH and soon to be seen in this February’s release FACTOTUM, will be honored as the subject of this year’s Gotham Awards Feature Tribute. Additionally, this year’s Gala Co-chairs are President of HBO Family and Documentary Sheila Nevins, and producer Bob Yari of Yari Film Group (CRASH; PRIME). The Nominating Committee for the Gotham Awards announced above is as follows:

Nominating Committee for Best Feature and Breakthrough Director: Karen Durbin, Film Critic, Elle magazine; Rajendra Roy, Director of Programming, Hamptons International Film Festival and Competition Selection Committee Member, Berlin International Film Festival; Lisa Schwarzbaum, Film Critic, Entertainment Weekly; Peter Travers, Film Critic, Rolling Stone.

Nominating Committee for Best Documentary: Scott Foundas, Film Editor and Critic, LA Weekly; Diana Lee, Festival Director, Asian American International Film Festival;David Schwartz, Chief Curator, Museum of the Moving Image Milton Tabbot, Managing Director of Documentary Funding Programs and Screening Series, IFP.

Nominating Committee for Breakthrough Actor and Best Ensemble Cast: Graham Fuller, Daily News’ Sunday arts editor and Interview magazine’s film columnist; Stephen Garrett, freelance film reporter for Time Out New York and Esquire; Dave Karger, Senior Writer, Entertainment Weekly: Moikgantsi Kgama, Founder, Imagenation.