Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


APTS Hands Out Service Awards on Capitol Hill

A number of representatives have been honored for their work for public broadcasters.

WASHINGTON—America’s Public Television Stations has spent Wednesday, Feb. 26, on Capitol Hill to recognize a number of U.S. representatives with their Champion of Public Broadcasting Award.

L-R: Neal Shapiro, President and CEO, WNET; Congresswoman Nita Lowey; Patrick Butler, President and CEO, APTS

One of the announced recipients was Congressman Fred Upton (R-Mich.). Upton currently is a co-chair for the Public Broadcasting Caucus, which encourages federal investment in public media and works with public broadcasters on their missions of education, public safety and civic leadership in American communities. He also was previously (2010-2016) the chairman of the House Energy and Commerce Committee, during which time he helped pass legislation that established the broadcast spectrum incentive auction and ensured channel repacking costs were covered.

Congresswoman Rosa DeLauro (D-Conn.) has also been recognized as a Champion of Public Broadcasting. Rep. DeLauro is the chairwoman of the House Labor-HHS-Education Appropriations Subcommittee and in 2019 helped to secure the $20 million increase in federal funding for public broadcasting, the first increase in a decade.

Another Champion of Public Broadcasting Award was given to Senator Dan Sullivan (R-Ark.). As the Republican sponsor of the annual Senate public media funding letter for the last two years, Sen. Sullivan also was critical in helping to raise public broadcasting’s funding.

Maryland State Senator Nancy J. King (D) was also awarded the Champion of Public Broadcasting Award. She was recognized in part for her authoring and passage of Maryland Senate Bill 1034 in 2017, which required the governor to increase the funding provided to the Maryland Public Broadcasting Commission by the same percent that the general fund revenues increase for that year, as well as the governor being required to provide funding to make up for any cut in federal funding from the Corporation for Public Broadcasting’s Community Service Grants.

In addition, for just the second time in the organization’s history, APTS has bestowed its Lifetime Achievement Award to Congresswoman Nita Lowey (D-N.Y.), chairwoman of the House Appropriations Committee, who APTS says has been a leader on public broadcasting issues for her 32-year congressional career.