Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


FCC Acting Chair Makes Staff Appointments

Chief of staff and advisory positions filled

Federal Communications Commission Acting Chairwoman Mignon Clyburn has made several staff appointments including her chief of staff, legal advisors and assistants.
The appointees, their positions and backgrounds are:

  • P. Michele Ellison was named as chief of staff. Ellison previously served as chief of the FCC’s Enforcement Bureau, which is responsible for carrying out the agency’s rules and orders.
  • Dave Grimaldi was appointed as chief counsel and senior legal advisor. Grimaldi previously served as chief of staff in then Commissioner Clyburn’s office.
  • Louis Peraertz was selected to serve as legal advisor for wireless, international, and public safety issues. Peraertz has been on Commissioner Clyburn’s staff since October 2009.
  • Rebekah Goodheart was named as legal advisor for wireline issues. Goodheart has worked at the FCC since January 2008 serving as deputy director of the Technology Transitions Policy Task Force.
  • Sarah Whitesell was appointed legal advisor for media issues. Whitesell previously served as deputy bureau chief of the Media Bureau.
  • Drema Johnson has been chosen to serve as confidential assistant. Johnson is responsible for managing the office as well as overseeing the acting chairwoman’s personal schedule and travel arrangements.
  • DeeAnn Smith was picked to serve as staff assistant. Smith joined the agency in 2009.
  • Dorothy Givens-Terry was selected to serve as special assistant. Givens-Terry is an experienced researcher, interviewer, reporter and entrepreneur.
  • Carol Lott was chosen to serve as special assistant. Lott has more than 26 years of administrative and office management experience.