Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now



American Society of Cinematographers Names Television Nominees

HOLLYWOOD, December 19, 2012 — The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) has selected its television nominees for the organization’s 27th Awards for Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography. The winners will be announced on February 10, 2013, at the Hollywood & Highland Grand Ballroom.

Nominees in the one-hour Episodic Television Series Category are:
• Balazs Bolygo, HSC for Cinemax’s Hunted (“Mort”)
• Chris Manley, ASC for AMC’s Mad Men (“The Phantom”)
• Kramer Morgenthau, ASC for HBO’s Game of Thrones (“The North Remembers”)
• David Moxness, CSC, ASC for FOX’s Fringe (“Letters of Transit”)
• Mike Spragg for Cinemax’s Strike Back (Episode 11)
• David Stockton, ASC for FOX’s Alcatraz (Pilot)

The finalists in the Television Movie/Miniseries category are:
• Michael Goi, ASC for FX’s American Horror Story: Asylum (“I am Anne Frank: Part 2”)
• Florian Hoffmeister for the PBS Masterpiece presentation of Great Expectations
• Arthur Reinhart for History Channel’s Hatfields & McCoys
• Rogier Stoffers, ASC for HBO’s Hemingway & Gellhorn

Rounding out the third category are nominees for a half-hour Episodic Series, including:
• Ken Glassing for FOX’s Ben and Kate (“Guitar Face”)
• Michael Goi, ASC for NBC’s The New Normal (“Pilot”)
• Peter Levy, ASC for Showtime’s House of Lies (“Gods of Dangerous Financial Instruments”)
• Bradford Lipson for FX’s Wilfred (“Truth”)
• Michael Price for ABC’s Happy Endings (“Four Weddings and a Funeral (Minus Three Weddings and One Funeral))”

“Creating the mood, composing the lighting, and constructing camera angles on a television production schedule to elicit just the right emotions for a scene presents many challenges,” says ASC President Stephen Lighthill. “These artists have shown imaginative creativity in crafting the appropriate visuals on a broadcast timeline.”

Moxness and Stockton have previously won ASC Awards. Moxness took home the award for Smallville (2007), and earned an additional nomination for The Kennedys (2012). Stockton earned his ASC trophy for Eleventh Hour (2009), as well as nominations for Nikita (2011) and Chase (2012).

Goi’s double recognition makes these his third and fourth nominations. He was previously acknowledged for The Fixer (1999) and Judas (2005).

These are the fourth ASC nominations for both Manley and Morgenthau. Manley earned kudos for Threat Matrix (2004), CSI: NY (2005) and Mad Men (2011). Morgenthau received nominations for The Five People You Meet in Heaven (2005), Life on Mars (2009) and Family Limitation (2011).

Levy has two prior nominations for photographing 24 (2002) and The Life and Death of Peter Sellers (2005). Price was a nominee for Ugly Betty (2010).

Bolygo, Spragg, Hoffmeister, Reinhart, Stoffers, Glassing and Lipson are all first time nominees.

FOX programs led the pack with three nominations, followed by FX, HBO and Cinemax with two. Showtime, AMC, ABC, NBC, PBS and History Channel are also represented.

“There is an incredible amount of outstanding work being done for television, which is seeing a resurgence in compelling story-telling thanks to a wider landscape for distribution,” adds Lighthill. “It’s exciting to see what’s being done in the field. Audiences have a plethora of options now and these cinematographers have demonstrated superior skills in visual entertainment.”
For information regarding the 27th ASC Awards for Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography visit

or call 323-969-4333.

About the ASC
The American Society of Cinematographers was chartered in January 1919. There are more than 300 active members of ASC, and 150-plus associate members from sectors of the industry that support the art and craft of filmmaking. Membership and associate membership is by invitation based on contributions that individuals have made to advance the art of visual storytelling.

For additional information about the ASC, visit

. Join ASC on Facebook at

and American Cinematographer magazine fan page at