cpn connect

This section of Creative Planet Network, "The Wire", contains original press releases issued by various companies and industry organizations. The releases are not reviewed or edited by the editorial staff of Creative Planet Network News. For information and access, forward your name and email address to thewire@creativeplanetnetwork.com.

Hollywood Post Alliance Announces 2010 HPA Awards Nominees

2010-09-22 15:21:34

Awards Show Honors the Best of the Best in Post Production (Los Angeles, CA) The Hollywood Post Alliance today announced nominations for the 2010 HPA Awards. The HPA Awards recognize the achievements of those individuals working with ingenuity and creativity behind the scenes creating motion pictures, commercials and television. In announcing the awards, HPA President Leon Silverman commented, "The HPA takes pride in celebrating the accomplishments of our entire post production community, but it is a distinct honor to be able to recognize the distinguished contributions of our HPA Awards Nominees. With more submissions than ever before, this year's nominations represent some of the finest and most creative work our industry has to offer. These nominations recognize the hard work, artistry and creativity that consistently make post production such an important and too often under appreciated part of our larger industry. The HPA is proud to be able to celebrate their work." This year's winners will be announced during a celebratory evening on November 11th, 2010 at the Skirball Cultural Center in Los Angeles, CA. Nominees for the HPA Awards include: Outstanding Color Grading using a DI process - Feature Film "The Book of Eli" Maxine Gervais // Warner Bros. Motion Picture Imaging "Percy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning Thief" Steven J. Scott // EFILM "Alice in Wonderland" Stefan Sonnenfeld // Company 3 "Get Low" Natasha Leonnet // EFILM "Avatar" Skip Kimball // Modern VideoFilm Outstanding Color Grading - Television "True Blood - Bad Blood" Scott Klein // Technicolor "The Pacific - Episode Five" Steve Porter // Riot ESPN "Robben Island" Siggy Ferstl // Company 3 "Temple Grandin" Kevin O'Connor // Deluxe Digital Media "Mad Men - Souvenir" Tim Vincent // LaserPacific Outstanding Color Grading - Commercial Dos Equis "Ice Fishing" Tom Poole // Company 3 NY Chevy "We Carry" Dave Hussey // Company 3 ESPN "Robben Island Promo" Tim Masick // Company 3 NY AT&T "Legends" Siggy Ferstl // Company 3 Dos Equis "Cliff Diver" Tom Poole // Company 3 NY Outstanding Editing - Feature Film "Avatar" Stephen Rivkin, A.C.E., John Refoua, A.C.E. and James Cameron, A.C.E. "Invictus" Joel Cox, A.C.E. and Gary D. Roach // Warner Bros. Pictures and Malpaso Productions "Toy Story 3" Ken Schretzmann and Lee Unkrich, A.C.E. // Pixar Animation Studios "Inception" Lee Smith, A.C.E. "The Blind Side" Mark Livolsi, A.C.E. Outstanding Editing - Television "Glee - The Power of Madonna" Joe Leonard "Dexter - Remains to Be Seen" Louis Cioffi, A.C.E. "Glee - Dream On" Doc Crotzer "Lost - The End" Mark J. Goldman, Christopher Nelson, A.C.E., Stephen Semel, A.C.E., and Henk van Eeghen, A.C.E. // Touchstone Television "Glee - Journey" Bradley Buecker Outstanding Editing - Commercial American Express "Yvon Chouinard" Chris Franklin // Big Sky Editorial Dos Equis "Cliff Diver" Jeff Ferruzzo // Outside Editorial Busch Gardens "House of Vayne" Doobie White // Therapy Studios American Express "Geoffrey Canada" Chris Franklin // Big Sky Editorial Dos Equis "Ice Fishing" Jeff Ferruzzo // Outside Editorial Outstanding Sound - Feature Film "The Princess and the Frog" David Fluhr, Dean Zupancic and Odin Benitez // Walt Disney Studio Post Production Services "Toy Story 3" Tom Myers, Michael Silvers and Michael Semanick // Skywalker Sound "District 9" Michael Hedges, Gilbert Lake, Brent Burge and Chris Ward // Park Road Post Production "The Book of Eli" Chris Jenkins, Frank Montano, Steven D. Williams and Eric A. Norris // Universal Studios Sound Department "Inception" Richard King, Lora Hirschberg and Gary Rizzo // Warner Bros. Outstanding Sound - Television "House - Help Me" Brad North, Joe DeAngelis, Luis Galdames and Jackie Oster // Universal Sound "True Blood - Beyond Here Lies Nothin" John Benson, Jason Krane, Christian Buenaventura, Stuart Martin and Bruno Coon // Technicolor "Lost - The End" Frank Morrone, Scott Weber, Tom de Gorter, Alex Levy, Maciek Malish, Paula Fairfield and Carla Murray // Walt Disney Studio Post Production Services "Fringe - White Tulip" Paul Curtis, Rick Norman, Bruce Tanis and Brian Harman // Warner Bros. "Glee - Preggers" John Benson, Gary Megregian, Todd Murakami, Jason Krane and Christian Buenaventura // Technicolor Outstanding Sound - Commercial SkyHD Supertelly "Factory" Joe Mount // Wave Recording Studios Devil "Theatrical Trailer #1" David Brolin // Universal Studios Phil Daccord // Giaronomo Adidas "The Spark and the Blaze" Joe Mount // Wave Recording Studios Combat Stress "Unstable Images" Aaron Reynolds // Wave Recording Studios Bridgestone "Your Tires or Your Life" Michael Jesmer // Margarita Mix Santa Monica Outstanding Compositing - Feature Film "Avatar" Eddie Pasquarello, Ben O'Brien, Conny Fauser and Jason Billington // Industrial Light & Magic "Sherlock Holmes" Kate Windibank, Jan Adamczyk, Sam Osborne and Alex Cumming // Framestore "Iron Man 2" Jon Alexander, Pat Brennan, Amy Shepard and Jason Porter // Industrial Light & Magic "Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time" Chris Zeh, Mark Bakowski, Adrian Metzelaar and John Peck // Framestore "Avatar" Erik Winquist, Robin Hollander, Erich Eder and Giuseppe Tagliavini // Weta Digital Outstanding Compositing - Commercial Dos Equis "Cliff Diver" Johnny Starace // Outside Editorial Yahoo! "Home Sweet Home" Patrick Poulatian, Mandy Sorenson, Chris Sonia and Joe Morrison // Brickyard VFX Forst "Forst Beer" Massimo Germoglio // Rumblefish McDonald's "Proud Papa" Ryan Sears, Agnes Gunawan and Russell Porschia // Big Sky Editorial Dos Equis "Ice Fishing" Johnny Starace // Outside Editorial Kia Soul "This or That" Diramid Harrison Murray, Russell Dodgson, Tim Osborne and Adam Rowland // Framestore On a night for celebration, there are three other special honors set to be bestowed: The Lifetime Achievement Award, The Engineering Excellence Award, and the HPA Judges Award for Creativity and Innovation in Post Production. 20th Century Fox Feature Post President, Ted Gagliano will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award, an honor that pays tribute to well-respected individuals who have made a significant contribution to the post production industry. ARRI, Cine-tal and Digital Vision will be presented with the coveted Engineering Excellence Award, and the HPA Judges Award for Creativity and Innovation in Post Production will be awarded to FotoKem, Gradient Effects, Light Iron Digital and Reliance MediaWorks. For complete information and to purchase tickets for the HPA Awards please visit www.hpaawards.net, call the HPA at 213.614.0860 or write info@hpaawards.net. About the Hollywood Post Alliance(r) Hollywood Post Alliance (HPA(r)) serves the professional community of businesses and individuals who provide expertise, support, tools and the infrastructure for the creation and finishing of motion pictures, television, commercials, digital media and other dynamic media content. About the HPA Awards(r) The HPA Awards were created to foster awareness of post production, promote creative and technical excellence, recognize the achievements of post production talent, and build involvement in the Hollywood Post Alliance. The HPA Awards will be presented with generous support from HP, Company 3, Encore Hollywood, Method Studios, Panasonic, Quantel, NAB Show, AJA Video Systems, PRECO and SAN Solutions. # # # Media Contact: Chris Purse, ignite strategic communications 818-508-0450