Jackson Hole Wildlife Film Festival Announces Awards

Jackson Hole, Wyo.--The Jackson Hole Wildlife Film Festival ispleased to announce the selection of this year’s Film CompetitionAward winners. Films were selected from over 550 entries by a committeeincluding David Dugan, Eugene Linden, Mary Jane McKinven, Cathe Neukum,and Victoria Stone. Winners of the Festival Film Competition are:

Grand Teton Award—Best of Festival (sponsored by PanasonicBroadcast & Television Systems):
The Cultured Ape, Scorer Associates
Considered by the judges for this prestigious award were: WingedMigration, The Cultured Ape, State of the Planet, and Pale Male

Best Animal Behavior (sponsored by World Wildlife Fund):
Snake Hunters of the Kalahari, National Geographic

Children's Program (sponsored by National WildlifeFederation):
China Bear Special: Really Wild Show, BBC

Earth Sciences (sponsored by American Geological Institute):
Journey to the Center of the Earth, Green Umbrella, Limited andDiscovery Channel

Environmental (sponsored by Conservation International):
Ape Hunters, BBC

Limited Series (sponsored by Quantel, Inc.):
Wild Africa, Discovery Channel, BBC

Newcomer (sponsored by Granada Visual):
Flip Flotsam, Etienne Oliff & Lucy Bateman

Non-Broadcast (sponsored by Lobo Media Productions):
Laboratory Rat: A Natural History, Oxford University

People & Animals (sponsored by National Geographic ChannelsInternational):
Pale Male, Frederic Lilien, FL Productions

Short (sponsored by Lobo Media Productions):
Deadly Sounds in the Silent World, The Whaleman Foundation

Theatrical (sponsored by Fletcher Chicago):
Winged Migration, Sony Pictures Classics

Website (sponsored by Sony Electronics):
Florida’s Springs: Protecting Nature’s Gem, FusionsparkMedia, Inc.,

Achievement in Sound (sponsored by Dolby Laboratories, Inc.):
Shark Battlefield , BBC and Discovery Channel
Kate Hopkins, Sound Editor; Martyn Harries, Dubbing Mixer

CGI/Animation (sponsored by Marco Polo Archive):
Monsters We Met: The Eternal Frontier, BBC and Animal Planet

Cinematography (sponsored by Eastman Kodak Company):
Wild Africa: Mountains, Discovery Channel and BBC
Cinematographers: Martyn Colbeck, Trevor de Kock, Justin Maguire

Editing (sponsored by LaserPacific Media Corporation):
My Halcyon River, BBC
Nigel Buck, Editor

Music (sponsored by Nature/WNET):
Danger in Tiger Paradise, BBC, Animal Planet, and Mike BirkheadAssociates
David Mitcham, Composer

Writing (sponsored by Writers Guild of America, west):
Temple of the Tigers: India's Bandhavgarh Wilderness, Icon FilmsWriter, Harry Marshall

Special Jury Award for tackling a notoriously tough subject in acourageous and compelling way
The State of the Planet with David Attenborough, BBC and DiscoveryChannel

Special Jury Award to an individual with the passion to explore acomplex, controversial, and important issue.
Cost of Freedom, Vanessa Schulz, 21st Paradigm

Michael Brinkman Emerging Filmmaker Award Recipients:
(sponsored in association with the Jackson Hole Wildlife Film Festivalby: Apple, Abel Cine Tech, Anton Bauer, Crawford Communications,Discovery, Dolby Laboratories, Fujinon, Granada Wild, LaserPacificMedia, Panasonic, Pace Technology, Quantel, and Sony Electronics)
Brad Markel—project (working title): Western Fires andYellowstone’s Amazing Rebirth
John Shier—project (working title): Mazaalai, Ghost of theGobi

Take Your Best Shot Award:
Martin Dohrn, for “Terminal Velocity”

In addition to these prestigious film awards, the Festival honoredDr. George Schaller with its Lifetime Achievement Award. Dr. Schalleris recognized as the world’s foremost field biologist. As vicepresident for science and exploration of the Bronx Zoo-based WildlifeConservation Society, his five decades of field research have shapedwildlife protection around the world. His dedication to wildlifeconservation has been instrumental in the establishment of five of theworld’s wildlife reserves, including the Arctic National WildlifeRefuge in Alaska, and Chang Tang Wildlife Reserve in Tibet.

The Festival also presented a Lifetime Corporate Achievement Awardto the Japanese broadcaster NHK in recognition of its 50th anniversaryof TV broadcasting. NHK is a well-known pioneer in the research anddevelopment of HDTV technology, and has actively promoted HDTVacquisition, editing and broadcasting. NHK has not only been a leaderin the development of the technology, but is one of the world’smajor producers of natural history films.

For the first time ever, the Festival presented special ConservationAction Awards in recognition of the important work that is underway inthe Congo Basin. President El Hadj Omar Bongo (Gabon) was honored forhis landmark and precedent-setting decision to protect over 10,000square miles of landscape in a system of 13 national parks. Inaddition, the Republic of Congo and the recently formed Congo BasinForest Partnership (CBFP) were recognized for their leadership in theconservation efforts of the region.

The Jackson Hole Wildlife Film Festival is sponsored by 22 globalorganizations. They range from major broadcasting corporations andproduction companies to post-production houses and conservationorganizations. The Festival's Board of Directors includes: AmericanGeological Institute, Animal Planet, BBC Natural History Unit, CrawfordCommunications, Discovery Channel, Dolby Laboratories, Eastman KodakCompany, ERWDA, Fujinon, Granada Wild, LaserPacific Media Corporation,Lobo Media Productions, National Geographic Television, NationalWildlife Federation, Natural History New Zealand, Nature/WNET,NHK/Japanese Broadcasting, ORF/Austrian Television, Panasonic Broadcastand Television Systems, Sony Electronics, the Turner Foundation, andWriter’s Guild of America, west.