Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Panasonic AG-HMC40

Default Panasonic AG-HMC40

Hello...does anyone have an opinion on this camera? I am a semi-pro hobbyist who shoots mostly short films, web series, and indie music videos.

I am currently using the Sony HVR-A1U. I plan on doing a good amount of chroma key work in the future, and have been told HDV isn't great for green screen. I've also been frustrated with frequent dirty heads, and the bottom loading tape deck is annoying when using a tripod.

I've become more and more interested in tapeless recording, and would like the ability to record progressive. Plus, the price is within my budget.

Does anyone have any experience with this camera?

Thanks so much!

Administrator

My review of the HMC40 will appear in December DV Magazine.

For the price point, I am very impressed with this camera. The combination of the efficient AVCCAM (Panasonic's implementation of AVCHD) and small form factor makes it an excellent entry-level camera or even as a B camera to the HMC150.

While more expensive, also look at the JVC HM100.

There is debate over whether AVCHD is superior to the XDCAM EX codec of the HM100. I like the control layout of the HM100 better. But HMC40 is also $1000 less expensive (presuming you purchase the $500 XLR block for the HMC40-- otherwise your savings is $1500).

Either camera is superior to the tape-based HDV you are currently shooting.

Ned Soltz
    2-pop Guide

We have one, and it produces startling beautiful footage.

However, it needs light, so if you are looking for a good low light cam, not the best choice.

In good light, wow.
    David
    2-pop Guide

A New Blog About Video
    secondchairvideo
    http://www.secondchairvideo.com/

Cool, thanks Ned & David! That was very helpful.

Ned, I look forward to reading your full review in DV Magazine. I'm very intrigued. I was excited about HDV when I first bought my old camera, but have just totally lost interest.